Spendyourself shoot

So, even though I am highly unqualified for such a thing… I have been named “Art Director” for this company I’m a part of. It was pretty much born out of a joke, really… but I have been handling some of the artsy fartsy stuff regarding getting Spendyourself off the ground.

Spendyourself is a non-profit apparel company designed to help be a voice for the voiceless and oppressed around the world… and help restore their dignity through sustainable projects. Basically we are designing a t-shirt or a series of shirts where all of the profits go toward a specific project and aim to create sustainable solutions.

The first t-shirt series… “Omed”… is for a camp of internally displaced refugees in Afghanistan. Basically, these people left many years ago when things in Afghanistan were bad. They returned to Kabul a few years ago, to find that there were no jobs and nowhere for them to live. The government “relocated” them out into the middle of nowhere… the middle of the desert.. with pretty much nothing but tarps for tents. Sozo International stepped in to bring some basic relief and meet their survival needs. We are slowly moving towards sustainability in the village, and so this t-shirt series is helping to finish building a school in this village, Barek Aub, for these refugee children who currently have no place to go to school. Barek Aub means “broken water” and we hope to bring True, Living Water to this place. This is reflected in the t-shirt design.

The Spendyourself website will be up in about a week for you to order shirts! But, for now, I thought I’d show you some of the fun shots I did in our t-shirt photoshoot.  You might recognize one of those uber-handsome men… its my boyfriend Lee…

Those are our logo tees… designed by Tyler of Pedale Design

Fun fact: Those two are getting married in 10 days!

And this last one is a little blurry… but I just think it is soo dang cute of my man… The reluctant model did pretty good, don’t you think?

4 Responses to “Spendyourself shoot”

  1. jenny Says:

    Those (T-shirts and photos both) are awesome. I think this is such a great idea :) I wish I was a good photographer. I haven’t done anything since high school…but perhaps you could be my tutor in a few months! :) See you soon!

  2. julie Says:

    i love the effect that u used on the one with the abstract art. What did you do?

  3. Laura Mac Says:

    jess! that’s so cool! congrats, you art director, you. i love the photos. especially the 5th one…it’s my fave. (ps lee looks so much like jeff carson it’s not even funny)

  4. Jessica Says:

    Thanks guys! Exciting stuff, I tell you!

    Jenny– we can totally talk photography sometime…

    Jules– for the abstract I think I used a “can of w.a.” on it but decreased the opacity some so that some of the color came thru…

    LMac– thats pretty funny about JC. i think you’re right though I can’t say I ever think of it :) but it does take me back to our years in the duplex and what you would always tease me with… lol.

Leave a Reply

